CONSPYRMEDIA PHOTO AND VIDEO BLOG – PHOENIX, AZ

HIGH SCHOOL SENIOR PORTRAITS AND HEAD SHOTS in PHOENIX, AZ

Drive: The Music Video


IT.IS.FINISHED!!!

I am proud to report that the music video for Robert Payne’s single “Drive” is complete!!!  In a previous post, I shared some stills from the video as I was editing.

Robert Payne - Drive Music Video StillsThe first minute of the video really sets the tone for the rest of the video.  It starts out with a narrative of a man praying about returning home to his faith and expressing the fear of asking to be taken back.  Robert and I came up with the idea as a way to support the story of a man who has gone out in to the world to fulfill his passion and his dreams only to realize that without his faith in God, he was empty,  depleted, no where… lost.

What I love about this song and the video together is that we were able to tell the story of the Prodigal Son from the son’s perspective and in a modern-day era.   Robert did a fantastic job conveying all of the emotions that one might endure reaching that revelation; the perspective of feeling stuck in a “desert” without God, to reflecting on his choices and his indulgences, desperation in the middle of “nowhere” and then finally moving through to the point of elation on “the way back home.”

Robert Payne - Drive: Music Video StillsAs Robert and I where batting around the ideas for this video, he was really clear about a couple of things: he wanted it to look “independent” and the vocal tracking had to be “on.”  Robert used his iphone to track with the song during all of the sequences.  At one point, I was actually sweating it, but syncing the vocals to the track turned out not to be as difficult as I thought it would be.

Robert Payne - Drive: Music Video StillsWe shot the Drive video in 3 separate shoots.  The day sequences are my favorite.  I had a blast out in the desert near Apache Junction, AZ trying to work out all of the shots for the narrative as well as the actual music portion of the video.  We took two runs at shooting the night sequences on the Mill Avenue Bridge, in Tempe simply because I didn’t think I had enough light on him the first time.  The second night shoot was super windy and very very cold.  So when you see Robert closing up his jacket in the video, its real.  He was freezing!

Creating the music video was an awesome challenge for me simply because it was done on no budget, with just me and Robert, and neither of us having much experience.  My Nikon D600 was brand new so I had to figure that out.  I only had a little experience using Adobe Premiere so I had to learn that very quickly as well as the Magic Bullet Looks plugins.

I loved this experience and can’t wait to do another one!

Enjoy!

In my previous post, I listed the equipment we used to make this whole thing happen:

A single Nikon D600 DSLR @ 1080p  (ISO’s as high as 6400)

A GoPro Hero 2 (for the straight-on driving shots)

A VIDLED Light Bank

A Glidecam 1000

A Gitzo tripod with a Manfrotto Fluid Head

A MacBook Pro

Adobe Premiere CS6

Red Giant Software’s DeNoiser 2

Red Giant Software’s Magic Bullet Looks 2

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2013 by in Cinematography, Kingdom, Ministry and tagged , , , , , , , .
Velocity Retail Group Blog

Retail Commercial Real Estate | Retail Leasing | Phoenix, AZ

Accelerated Development Services

We Build Retail Brands

CONSPYRMEDIA PHOTO AND VIDEO BLOG - PHOENIX, AZ

HIGH SCHOOL SENIOR PORTRAITS AND HEAD SHOTS in PHOENIX, AZ

The Joshua Collective

Scott Savage - Writer | Pastor

